New or Old?

In my recent heritage day trip around the churches of Tunbridge Wells, I nearly didn’t bother visiting St Augustine’s. Although I am a fan of good modern architecture, this was the church of my childhood and I had no particular memories of it as anything special.

_dsc6996-copy

Nevertheless, I was passing…

_dsc6994-copy

What a surprise it was- this is a really pleasant space with no grandstanding going on, it has a lovely simplicity. I was not surprised to be told since visiting, that it won an architectural award. Although I’ll admit I’ve not been able to substantiate this claim after a quick search online.

_dsc6995-copy

By way of comparison, last weekend we went outside of the borough to visit the more traditionally impressive 18th century church of St Lawrence in Mereworth. This is a building I have driven past many times and wanted to visit. from the outside it is magnificent.

_dsc7307-copy

_dsc7311-copy

_dsc7306-copy

On finally getting inside, however, I am not quite so sure. I think this could maybe do with a bit less of the bombast and a bit more of the modest elegance of St Augustine’s.

_dsc7264-copy

_dsc7263-copy

_dsc7259-copy

_dsc7258-copy

_dsc7260-copy

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

