Waking up again in Dunorlan

_dsc6966-copy

Each summer, as I return back to Tunbridge Wells after a visit to some amazing place, I have to re-start my photography a bit. Often this starts in that most familiar of places-Dunorlan Park.

This summer, I have just been to the Norwegian Fjords (hint hint- you can check out the first part of my adventures in my other blog at this link)

How can Dunorlan compete with this?

_dsc6955-copy

Well for me a big part of what makes the park work for me photographically is about my own attitude. When I go to a worldwide location for the first time, I often tend to take my least risky or original shots as everything is new to me.

_dsc6970-copy

Back home, the opposite happens. When I go back yet again to Dunorlan, I have no choice but to try something new. It is why when I look over the past of this blog I see so many failed experiments, but also all of the pictures where I have moved my technique on. Most of what I have actually learned about photography has happened in this town.

_dsc6959-copy

The pictures that follow probably mix failed experiments with successes. they are all taken with my favourite old Russian lens, the Helios 44-2 which creates those lovely painterly blurred backgrounds. I have messed with it even more by putting it on a tilt shift adapter- a strange contraption which allows me to bend it from side to side on the camera so that it focuses on just a strip of what is in front of it- you can see the effect most clearly in the first picture below of the bench.

I’m not entirely sure whether it all works- I normally only decide these things after a few weeks when I look back at my shots, but I’m glad I tried.

_dsc6957-copy

_dsc6991-copy

_dsc6988-copy

_dsc6986-copy

_dsc6980-copy

_dsc6982-copy

_dsc6974-copy

_dsc6962-copy

_dsc6952-copy

_dsc6958-copy

_dsc6961-copy

_dsc6950-copy

_dsc6984-copy

_dsc6953-copy

 

 

Leave a Reply

